Kentucky Derby 2020 Hats

History Behind The Kentucky Derby Hats

In the time when the Derby was first held and for several decades after, it was common for men and women to wear hats daily, but especially for special occasions and most outdoor events. At Royal Ascot in Berkshire, England, for the Royal Enclosure area, hats are a required element for ladies, so in many ways the Kentucky Derby hat tradition is a reflection and has continued through today.

Kentucky Derby 2020 Hat Contest

As the popularity of the race grew, people – especially women — began to wear extravagant hats and fascinators. Men got in on the fun and it’s become a tradition now for many to wear fedoras, bowlers, pork pie, panama and many others to keep up with their dates.

RELATED: Kentucky Derby 2020 Updates: Baffert Optimistic, Tiz The Law Ready

Usually, Churchill Downs hosts a hat contest, but this year since the Derby will be contested patron-free, The Kentucky Derby Museum has invited people to enter their hats for inclusion in the 2020-2021 “It’s My Derby” fashion exhibit, which is a virtual contest.

An expert panel of industry insider judges will select 15-20 hats that will be on display in the museum from October 2020 through September 2021. Three specialty awards will be granted: the “Judges’ Choice Award” for best overall entry, the “Most Representative of Derby Award” for the hat that best captures the essence of the Kentucky Derby, and the “Employees’ Choice Award” selected by KDM staff.

2020 Kentucky Derby Odds and Post Position
PP Horse Odds Trainer Jockey
1 Finnick the Fierce SCR Rey Hernandez Martin Garcia
2 Max Player 30-1 Steven M. Asmussen Ricardo Santana, Jr.
3 Enforceable 30-1 Mark Casse Adam Beschizza
4 Storm the Court 50-1 Peter Eurton Julien Leparoux
5 Major Fed 50-1 Greg Foley James Graham
6 King Guillermo SCR Juan Carlos Avila Samy Camacho
7 Money Moves 30-1 Todd Pletcher Javier Castellano
8 South Bend 50-1 Tyler Gaffalione Bill Mott
9 Mr. Big News 50-1 Bret Calhoun Gabriel Saez
10 Thousand Words 15-1 Bob Baffert Florent Geroux
11 Necker Island 50-1 Chris Hartman Miguel Mena
12 Sole Volante 30-1 Patrick Biancone Luca Panici
13 Attachment Rate 50-1 Dale Romans Joe Talamo
14 Winning Impression 50-1 Dallas Stewart Joe Rocco, Jr.
15 NY Traffic 20-1 Saffie Joseph, Jr. Paco Lopez
16 Honor A. P. 5-1 John A. Shirreffs Mike Smith
17 Tiz the Law 3-5 Barclay Tagg Manny Franco
18 Authentic 8-1 Bob Baffert John Velazquez